Tags

, ,

Today’s Joy Dare … A gift baked, stirred, eaten …

After I returned home from  the hospital my little man and I knew there would be big changes in the way I ate and exercised. Things like whole grains, brown rice, fat-free, sugar-free, etc. would become the norm.

I didn’t say anything to him, but, I was more than a little forelorn and sad … I, of course, was thinking of all of the “could nots” … you know how that is.

But, he didn’t let it bother him at all … he began changing recipes… first, he changed the ingredients in the bread maker bread … and came up with a lovely chocolate-raisin bread, that was even better when toasted.

Stirring a cup of hot chocolate and eating  the toasted raisin bread, I realized two things … I still could have foods I loved, just made a different way … and, I realized how much I was loved as he went to so much trouble for me.

It was a wonderful gift … baked, stirred and eaten … thank You Father for the good things you give me … they are precious gifts!

Chocolate-Raisin Bread

3 c. whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 pkg Sweet ‘N Low
2 Tablespoons cocoa powder
1 Tablespoon Yeast
1/4 cup raisins
1  3/4 cup  warm water (not hot)
2 Tablespoons Canola Oil

Add salt, sweet ‘n low, cocoa powder, yeast  and shortening to water – pour into breadmaker pan, place flour on  the liquid in breadmaker pan, then pour raisins on top of that.  Follow breadmaker instructions.

Let cool, slice, toast …

