Tags

July’s Joy Dare … 3 Gifts of Story …

3 Gifts of story …

1 … Gift one is my being able to read … stories of truth … stories of fiction … it began in a small country town where my library was one closet with one book shelf … an opening into another world … then, we moved to a city with many libraries … I could carry stacks of books home each week … as many as I wanted … what a joy

2 … During our school break one summer, my dad, a contractor decided to rebuild grandmother’s home  …  We actually camped in a tent until he put up the walls … I remember we slept inside the house before it had a roof … watching thousands of twinkling stars above our heads … Dad would tell us stories each night … “The Girl of the Limberlost” … “Freckles” … Zane Grey stories … what lovely memories, this gift of story he gave …

3 … Stories from the bible mom read each night … those taught in church, bible schools and classes … of the greatest story ever, the one of Jesus and His love …

Thank you Father, for these three gifts of story …

 

